Renewing the blog


Well, I think it’s time to resume my blog, don’t you think? It has been a while since I last opened it, and although recently I have been (lightly) thinking on several ways to continue the blog, somehow in a more or less professional way, I never got the sufficient will to do it. Today, as my thought-finished PCR was actually 24 min away to end, I just got the impulse to revise my blog and restart writing… and as you can see, in English. Continue reading to find out the reasons.

I’ve reached to the conclusion that I want to open my blog from my very personal experience of my life in Japan to a wider, more professionally-focused readership. I mean, science colleagues. That’s why I am changing from Spanish to English. This does not mean I won’t write in Spanish in the future, I will. I would like also to start writing posts in simple Japanese, as my language skills are significantly improving. I have been reading great blogs during the last year, and although most of them are written by bioinformatics scientists (meaning that you suppose them to be seated in front of the computer almost all the time, developing wonderful arteriosclerosis in their leg arteries and writing one post after another while the high-memory server or the cluster of clusters do the tough work for them), others are managed by palaeontologists, molecular biologists, etc., people who are not so often sitting down in front of a computer. So, why me, a mixture of a bad, illiterate, newbie bioinformatician and a not-so-bad-but-not-so-good molecular biologist, working in Evo-Devo (or so I think), cannot maintain a blog on what I do as a scientist, where I express my humble opinion about current topics and debates, try to help people letting the world know how I got to solve (most of the time simple) problems, and why not, also write about my life in Japan so my friends and others can follow my experiences here (as a Facebook-hater you can imagine I closed mine long ago…)? Well, I think there’s no reason not do it.

So, I have some ideas to format my blog into a more attractive scheme for everyone, scientist and non-scientist friends. First, I need a new title: a title that is original, fresh and attractive (any ideas?). Second, I will reorganise the blog, for example dividing the posts into Personal, Science and Opinion sections or something like that. And third, I need to advertise it somehow. A blog without readers is like a gene without polymerase and TFs working on it… It’s laying there, lost in a web of information for nothing (although I could give it to the ENCODE team and surely they’d find out something…). For those who do not know, I have a Twitter account and I found that Twitter is a wonderful means to stay updated on several issues, like new software releases for your assemblies and mapping, new publications on evolution, interesting opinions from lesser and greater scientists, and more importantly, it’s a great tool to meet people. I will share my new posts, and also comments and opinions that I get from you on the blog via Twitter. You can follow me @PascualAnaya (I know what you think, but I wanted people to remember me by my real name, the one I use in publications, and not Champi…).

And last but not least, I am drafting my own website. This as well will be professionally focused. I will upload my CV, write about my research topics and interests, and a list of publications (the few of them…). This is just an idea right now that I have to develop. I will anyway keep you updated. Just stay connected to my blog 🙂

That’s all for now! I hope you’re looking forward to the next post!

Leave a comment